Why a Maritime Summit?

As from the first of January, 2017 Malta will be presiding the Council of the European Union, which Presidency will be for six months. During this time one of the major issues that will be addressed is undoubtedly its maritime policy.  As such this is a unique opportunity for highly influential international maritime executives to meet, discuss and analyse the current European Union Maritime strategy and the impact it is having on the industry. The conclusions of the summit will be formally presented to the Prime Minister for his considerations. The conference will be spread over three and half days and is intended to stimulate various debates with the scope of reaching conclusions and make proposals that would be presented to the various stakeholders for their consideration, including policymakers in Malta who will be taking the Presidency of the EU Council in 2017. Thus the theme “The Voice of the Industry”.

Why Malta?

Malta has always been a maritime nation as its location has made it historically the most sought after island in the Mediterranean, by traders and world powers alike. As the Maritime world evolved, Malta’s nautical importance came to the fore. As it ranks top of the European maritime league and sixth in the world, Malta has asserted itself as a major player not only as a flag State but in all the other aspects of the maritime industry. It is now a major player in this highly competitive world and therefore its responsibilities and obligations have increased tremendously.

Among the Speakers

Hon. Joe Mizzi

Hon. Joe Mizzi

Minister of Transport and Infrastructure of Malta

Hon. Edward Scicluna

Minister of Finance of Malta

Hon. Konrad Mizzi

Minister within the Office of the Prime Minister

H.E. Kitack Lim

H.E. Kitack Lim

International Maritime Organisation (IMO) - Secretary General

Hon. Marios Demetriades

Hon. Marios Demetriades

Minister of Transport, Communications and Works of Cyprus

Hon. Theodoros Dritsas

Minister of Maritime Affairs & Insular Policy

Dr Anil Sharma

Dr Anil Sharma

GMS - President and Chief Executive Officer

Prof. Andreas G. Merikas


Ms. Anna Maria Darmanin

European Tug Owners Association - Secretary General

Dr Ann Fenech

Managing Partner of Fenech & Fenech Advocates and President of MMLA

Prof. Arnold Cassola

Alternattiva Demokratika - Chairperson

Mr. Bob Jaques

Seatrade Maritime Review - Editor

Dr Ing. Claire De Marco

Faculty of Engineering, University of Malta - Senior Lecturer

Mr. Conrad Thorpe OBE

Mr. Conrad Thorpe OBE

Salama Fikira - Chief Executive Officer

Dr Daniel Aquilina

Partner, Ganado Advocates and Chairman, Malta Marittima Agency

Mr. David Kerr

E.U. Transport, Telecoms and Energy Unit - Technical Attaché, Unit Coordinator

Mr. Eduardo Chagas

European Transport Workers' Federation - General Secretary

Mr. Emanuele Grimaldi

Mr. Emanuele Grimaldi

Grimaldi Group - Managing Director

Evangelos Chatzigiannis

GMS Hellas - Trader Responsible Recycling Coordinator

Mr. Fotis Karamitsos

Mr. Fotis Karamitsos

European Commission - Director

Avv. Francesco Lauro

Studio Legale Lauro - Senior Partner

Mr. Greg U. Ogbeifun

Ship Owners Association Nigeria - President

Gian Enzo Duci

Norbulk Enterprise Ship Management SRL - Managing Director

Mr. Heiko Kunst

European DG Clima - Policy Officer

Dr Kevin Dingli

Dingli & Dingli Law Firm - Managing Partner

Dr Jean-Pie Gauci-Maistre

Gauci-Maistre Xynou (Legal | Assurance) - Managing Partner

Mr. Joseph Calleja

Palumbo Malta Shipyard Ltd. - General Manager

Mr. Leendert Bal

Mr. Leendert Bal

European Maritime Safety Agency - Head of Operations

Mr. Markku Mylly

Mr. Markku Mylly

European Maritime Safety Agency - Executive Director

Mr. Mohamed Zaitoun

Mr. Mohamed Zaitoun

New Building Technical Projects - Assistant Vice President

Mr. Murali Subramanian

Mr. Murali Subramanian

FIMBank p.l.c. - Group Chief Executive Officer

Dr Neville Gatt

PricewaterhouseCoopers - Partner

Dr Nicholas Curmi

Ganado Advocates - Associate

Dr Nicholas Valenzia

Mamo TCV Advocates - Partner

Mr. Nigel Lowry

Lloyd’s List - Greece Correspondent

Patrick Verhoeven

European Community Shipowners' Association - Secretary General

Mr. Peter Hinchliffe

Mr. Peter Hinchliffe

International Chamber of Shipping - Secretary General

Dr Raphael Von Heereman

Cruise Lines International Association - Secretary General

Ravi K. Mehrotra

Foresight Ltd. - Founder and Executive Chairman

Mr. Bob Jaques

Seatrade Maritime Review - Editor

Mr. Robert Yuksel Yildirim

Mr. Robert Yuksel Yildirim

Yildirim Holdings - President and CEO

Prof. Simone Borg

Ambassasor for Malta on Climate Change

Stathis D. Gourdomichalis

Blue Wall Shipping Limited - C.O.O.

E.U. Commissioner Violeta Bulc

European Commission - European Commissioner for Transport

Prof. Yannis Maniatis

Prof. Yannis Maniatis

Former Minister of Environment, Energy and Climate Change of Greece